I have an exam tomorrow, and I am purposefully not allowing myself to get in that groove of what I call the ‘examination anxiety’. Anyway, there are some things we just cannot get enough of. There are some things that are plain therapeutic and soothe our nerves. These things take care of us, so we take care of them as well. I don’t know what I am thinking tonight. All I know is that there’s something wanting to get out, and that’s what pushed me to come here. I’ll be reading and re-reading before I hit ‘publish’, because tonight I might make absolutely no sense. My thoughts are still-born, haphazard, dormant, nascent and synonymous with every other word that reminds of something that’s incomplete, or rather unrecognizable. Sigh. Maybe that’s what I am going to post about tonight : words. Words have the power to make or break us. They can glorify us, and they can destroy us. They can overjoy us, overpower us, overwhelm us and outshine us as well! There’s a reason behind cliches being cliches, I read today. And one of my favourite cliches goes like “the pen is mightier than the sword”. 

I have always been fascinated with the power words have over us. In a very subtle way or an aggressive way (depending upon the user), they control us. We daily distinguish expressions of love, dislike, agony, delight, pain, etc. Somebody tells us they like us, and for absolutely no rhyme or reason, and there we go, happily hopping from one corner to another. Somebody tells us they don’t want to see our face, and it stings somewhere. We get affected by words so much that we choose to go silent. How ironic is that! There are some words that are likely to be etched forever in our memory, and on the other hand, we couldn’t care less about SOMEthing SOMEone said. Words can make you seem beautiful, and they can make you seem disgusting. It’s again ironic that women fall for men who’re good with words when the wiser lot vouches for the fact that men should be judged on the basis of their actions, and not their words. And somewhere deep down, those women know that it’s all a waste of time, but a part of them tells them that it’s already too late now. As for men, they seem to be at an utter loss of words when a woman says (in their ‘words’) something ‘spellbounding’! 😛 And what’s there to say about those golden words, “We need to talk”. They have the power to either make your heart skip a beat or make it want to run a marathon. A lot of people are becoming exceedingly passionate about using the choicest of abuses and their vocabulary is filled with invectives of the highest order. The F-word used to be a taboo a few years back. Well, now you ask someone about the weather, and they tell you “It’s effing cold!”. It took me a while to figure out that ‘effing’ did not exist in any lexicon because it belongs to a totally different genre of words 😛 Words fly out of mouths when people are inebriated (btw, I like this word). A friend told me once, “A sober man’s thoughts are a drunk man’s words”. Those words are kind of priceless at times. The user always chooses his/her targets ‘wisely’. 😉

We normally look up the dictionary when we need to look up the meaning of a particular word. The status quo has changed drastically, and it’s only a matter of time when words which have no meaning will find their way into the most prestigious dictionaries. Some of them already have, and it’s fun to see them described in a manner you would never adopt, because it looks like an ill-fitting combination of a lame word having a sophisticated meaning. And it’s nobody’s fault. The publishers cannot help it. They need to flow with the tide, and by the changing times they have to abide. 

This happens to be my most disorganized, ill-thought-out, and random post so far, and it is not going to take up a lot of drafts before I finally hit ‘publish’ (I wonder when I will, ’cause I don’t seem to want to stop). But if this is going to be my last paragraph, I would like to devote some space to the origin of all these haywire thoughts. I have still not come to the point where I started. And I will never know what it was that compelled me to type all these words till I go back to square one. Seems like I needed to wander a while before I got back to my anchor. I’m still not there yet, but I enjoyed wandering. It indeed was therapeutic. Someone might just ask, “Are you sure ‘therapeutic’ is the right word?”. This time, I’ll answer in a monosyllable before mincing my words. Those minced words might just give away a worded hint to me about my own status quo 😉

Leave a Reply

