Recently, while at the airport(s), while embarking and disembarking, I witnessed two incidents that would strike as something very ‘normal’ to most people, but they caught my interest because they made me realise a fundamental truth. I’ll write about my epiphany a few words later.

I noticed an Indian family that looked like they had done a lot of travelling in the past few days/were about to start a vacation and had some international miles to cover before they reached their destination. Before I could catch a glimpse of the mother, I noticed that her two children were called by the airline staff to sort out baggage-weight related issues. The mother suddenly caught everybody’s attention when she gave a piece of her mind to the airline employee for unnecessarily harassing her children.  Most smart people weigh their luggage and she was one of those smart people. She made it clear that there was no issue at all. I was wondering that if I was convinced while being at a distance from her, what impact she would have had on the employee. I know I am not that difficult to convince, but I soon saw her children coming back to the queue. I was behind the family when the mother asked for all the boarding cards and passports to be given to her. To everybody’s surprise, neither the daughter nor the son had their cards. The father didn’t either. The mother reminded them that they must have left them on the airline counter itself, and the family retrieved their boarding cards in time. All thanks to the mother.

When I reached my destination, I was waiting with my mother for our luggage to show up on the conveyor belt. Next to me was a couple bending on luggage to check if it belonged to them. Their conversation before they checked the name on the slip went somewhat like this: the husband said, “It’s ours”. The wife said with a patient smile, “It’s not ours”. The husband said with a smile, “but it’s ours”. The wife finally won the sweet argument. I know this could have been easily resolved with the help of the luggage slip, but their conversation brought a smile to my face too.

Both women were very different in temperaments, but without both of them, their family and husband respectively would be in a fix. Life would not have seemed as smooth as the running conveyor belt. I don’t mean to generalize, but the world really would be in a mess if women didn’t take care of the details. For instance, I behave like a girl who sleeps with her eyes open almost always when I am travelling with my mother, because I trust her blindly (except that I think I am slightly {just 0.5 more slightly} better at recognizing colours and sizes on the conveyor belt). But when I travel alone, I also become a mixture of all these ‘organized, systematic, in-control, alert, naturally vigilant’ women. My travel starts with and ends with checklists: written, typed, and mentally noted. It takes me about 10-15 minutes to pack things neatly once I am confident about the estimated coordinates of my belongings in my mind. Confusion inside my mind can be disastrous for me, and I know it (Confusion outside my mind could be a give-away). So these checklists save me from myself. I transform from a girl into a woman who travels sans a chaperone and needs to look after herself.

All this makes me realise that most women are, by nature, responsible and caring. The degree of responsibility increases with members being added to the family, or families being added to the woman, or when she is absolutely single, but it only makes her more responsible, independent, more mature, more confident, and of course, strong. It makes me realise that those who think women are weak are some very ignorant people. Most women are good at handling and managing bulky baggage, literally and figuratively speaking. A couple’s excitement for quality time in a sweet resort might turn sour due to the lack of essential toiletries; but it will in all probability be the woman who’ll spruce up the mood by brandishing a ‘just in case’ pack of paper soap, or toilet paper, or a thin towel. It might be snowing outside that honeymoon-ish resort, and since the man would want to ‘feel like a man’,  he would be about to dig deep in the snow to get her something, when his ladylove will thaw his heart in that freezing temperature by producing his warm muffler from nowhere. Women can’t help it, I guess. Some things are evolutionary, and those women are lucky in my opinion, who are able to challenge men through their charming ways without losing their feminine essence in the occasional but essential banter about women’s rights [luckier are those who find a man-for-keeps who isn’t afraid to get in touch with his feminine side]. It’s hard to understand why she does what she does for her family, would-be family, friends, friends-with-benefits, frenemies, but it’s easier to love her for all the things she does. At the end of the day, it’s she who completes everyone, everything. She could be a superb woman, she could be a superwoman. And/or both.

As Oscar Wilde said, “Women are meant to be loved, not understood”.

This one is dedicated to my favourite superwomaniya: My mother.

 

Leave a Reply

