“A man on the boat asked the oarsman, ‘Can you recite the alphabet?’ ‘No Sir’, replied the oarsman. ‘Then I can assure you, 25 percent of your life will be wasted’, said the man. He asked again, ‘Do you know mathematical tables?’ ‘No Sir, I don’t’, replied the oarsman. ‘Then you must know, 50 percent of your life will be wasted, since you have no knowledge of tables’, pat came the man’s reply, with conviction. The oarsman pointed at the sky to indicate an impending sea storm, and asked the man, ‘Sir, do you know how to swim?’ The man replied in the negative. ‘Sir, I do, but now I am convinced that if the storm got any stronger, your life will be 100 percent wasted’.”

Narration by one of my oldest and favourite story-tellers, my grandfather.

Leave a Reply

